Post-trip ‘feature’ to be removed from Uber
Uber Technologies Inc announced they will be removing a feature from their app that would track riders for up to five minutes after a trip. This came after Uber was densely criticized from customers who felt the ride sharing giant was not protecting people’s privacy. UTI settled a U.S. Federal Trade Commission complaint that they had “failed to protect the personal information of drivers and passengers and was deceptive about its efforts to prevent snooping by its employees”. The company agreed to conduct an audit every two years for the next 20 years in compliance to the FTC.